What does ‘insufficient mating material’ mean?

So you’re playing a game of chess, and are getting near the end. There are only a few pieces left, and one more is captured! But then… the game ends in a draw, and you get the message ‘insufficient mating material.’ What does this mean? 

The insufficient mating material rule says that the game is immediately declared a draw if there is no way to end the game in checkmate. 

The most common way that this happens is when the game is down to just two kings. There is no possible way to get checkmate--even if your opponent blunders--so the game is declared a draw. 

There are other combinations that will cause a draw that are not as obvious:

If both sides have any one of the following, and there are no pawns on the board: 

  • A lone king 
  • a king and bishop
  • a king and knight
  • a king and two knights

In the above scenarios the game will end in a draw, because it is not possible to mate a lone king with that material. You have a king and bishop your opponent has a king and bishop? It’s a draw! A king and bishop vs a king and two knights? Draw! And so on. 

Chess.com ignores the material your opponent has when determining if you have sufficient material for a mate. If neither side could mate a lone king with their material, then it is declared a draw.

Some of the above situations might be treated slightly differently in FIDE or USCF tournaments, or on other sites. Click here to read a more in depth article on all the different ways to draw and rules on draws! 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.