GDPR and The Right to be Forgotten. How can I view or delete my account data?
You can view all the account data that Chess.com stores by going to https://www.chess.com/my-data and signing in with your password.
This data consists of personal info that you entered on your settings page, your user IDs and username and email, as well as mobile device info (stored so we can send notifications to your device) and anti-fraud login info, such as trusted IPs that you connect from.
If you wish to completely delete your account and all data, you can scroll down to the bottom of the page to the Right to be Forgotten section:
Deleting your account in this way will remove all data, and will anonymize your profile in places where it can not be removed, such as in game records in other players' archives.
This will also block your email and any attached social media accounts. This means that any email, Facebook, Google or Apple account attached to this account can never be used to create another Chess.com account in the future.
This can not be undone, even by staff, so please think carefully before deleting your account in this way.
If you want to simply close your account, please see more info here. Deleting your account in this way is more than simply closing it. Accounts closed in this way can never be reopened again or recovered.
Please also note that this will not delete your comments or other public posts. Your posts will be anonymized but the text will still be there. If you wish your forum posts, comments or notes to be removed you must log in and remove them yourself before you delete your account.
***If you have lost access to your account, or have any questions about this process, please write to email@example.com and we will be happy to help.
If the information in this article is out of date, incorrect, or unclear, please let us know!