All Collections
Safety
GDPR and The Right to be Forgotten. How can I view or delete my account data?
GDPR and The Right to be Forgotten. How can I view or delete my account data?
Updated over a week ago

You can view all the account data that Chess.com stores by going to https://www.chess.com/my-data and signing in with your password.

This data consists of personal info that you entered on your settings page, for example, your user IDs, username, and email, as well as mobile device info (stored so we can send notifications to your device) and anti-fraud login info, such as trusted IPs that you connect from.

If you wish to completely delete your account and all data, you can scroll down to the bottom of the page to the Right to be Forgotten section:

Please be aware that deleting your account in this way will permanently remove your data, except for the data that we need to keep to exercise our legal rights or to comply with a legal obligation. For example, if you have been banned from Chess.com, we keep the minimum necessary information to make sure we enforce our policies and prevent future violations.

Please also note that this will not delete your game records, your comments or other public posts. However, all of these will be anonymized. If you wish your forum posts, comments or notes to be removed you must log in and remove them yourself before you delete your account.

This will also block your email and any attached social media accounts. This means that any email, Facebook, Google, Apple or any other service account attached to your Chess.com account can never be used to create another Chess.com account in the future.

The deletion will take place after 30 days. If you sign in before the 30 days is up, this will cancel the deletion. All you need to do is simply sign in and it will be canceled. The deletion will be permanent after 30 days.

This can not be undone, even by staff, so please think carefully before deleting your account in this way.

If you want to simply close your account, please see more info here. Deleting your account in this way is more than simply closing it. Accounts closed in this way can never be reopened again or recovered.

***If you have lost access to your account, or have any questions about this process, please get in touch and we will be happy to help.

Did this answer your question?